Benevolent Nun

My eyes stayed in Menswear Paris Fashion Week in last few days, because my favorite singer photo came to a few PFW runaway spread over tumblr. Then I found Rick Owen Runaway for Fall 2014 collection. I just thought, is he imitate the hijab? but suddenly I realize, he adapted the nun.

photorickowenfall2014

I took the review from style.com

Those abstractions were much less obvious than the flak vests in duchesse satin that appeared later in the show, but their (implied) presence seemed perversely appropriate to a collection which, in Owens’ telling, was heavy with symbolism: The black leather of brutal authority was, for example, balanced by the cashmere head wraps that symbolized benevolent nuns. They seemed to parallel some kind of internal struggle for the designer. “I’m talking myself out of punishing myself for not being perfect,” he said. So in effect he is both dominator and dominated.

Leave a Reply

