Silent Era

I remembered that night, when I firstly met the famous documentary director in 2013, Joshua Oppenheimer, in his premier night held by CPHDox. I felt stunned and stiffed after watched his movie, The Act of Killing.

He cheerily greeted us, the only four Indonesian in that building. He asked us, how about his movie and how we feel. And it easily said from our faces that we were feel terrible, sad, shocked and feel cheated.

TAoK

The story what we’ve been told for years was a story to cover a mass murder in an era which no one can say white and black. The time when you easily pointed as traitor and killer and others were hero and savior. The era when the loyalist was exiled and beheaded. And for almost 50 years, the whole killing mass was a myth.

The documentary was surely a dark (his)story of Indonesia. People who lived and directly effected, and they who lost family member in that time already lived in silent for years, to keep their life continued without other people judged and exiled them. But, when the fact was opened, by trusty sources, it could be so miserable when the government (which is still the same part (person, party) when the mass murder happened), said no words of apology. Can we live in another lie?

… used to bite my tongue and hold my breath
Scared to rock the boat and make a mess
So I sat quietly, agreed politely
I guess that I forgot I had a choice
I let you push me past the breaking point
I stood for nothing, so I fell for everything

Katy Perry, Roar –

Do we have a choice?

The movie is Oscar nomination for Best Documentary, and it can’t show in Indonesia, but freely to download. Maybe this could be the first Oscar for Indonesian producers, but they have to be called Anonymous for their own safety. So we have a choice, to learn about the dark time of our history, to see the truth.

Leave a Reply

